From Embryology
Phylogenetic tree of marsupials derived from retroposon data[1]

This Embryology category shows content related to marsupial development.

Mammals can be divided into the monotremes, marsupials, and placental mammals. Well-known marsupials include kangaroos, koalas, possums, opossums, wombats and the Tasmanian devil. in the Americas opossum development was extensively studied in the early 1900's. There are also other rarer examples in the Americas (monito del monte and South East Asian regions.

Australian Animal: echidna | kangaroo | koala | platypus | possum | Category:Echidna | Category:Kangaroo | Category:Koala | Category:Platypus | Category:Possum | Category:Marsupial | Category:Monotreme | Development Timetable | K12
Historic Australian Animal  
Historic Embryology: 1834 Early Kangaroo | 1880 Platypus Cochlea | 1887 Monotremata and Marsupialia | 1910 Eastern Quoll | 1915 The Monotreme Skull | 1939 Early Echidna

The Hill Collection contains much histology of echidna and platypus embryonic development.

Embryology History | Historic Disclaimer

Other Marsupials  
Monito del Monte Development | Opossum Development

Monito del Monte Development | Opossum Development

  1. Nilsson MA, Churakov G, Sommer M, Tran NV, Zemann A, Brosius J & Schmitz J. (2010). Tracking marsupial evolution using archaic genomic retroposon insertions. PLoS Biol. , 8, e1000436. PMID: 20668664 DOI.


This category has the following 3 subcategories, out of 3 total.

Pages in category 'Marsupial'

The following 38 pages are in this category, out of 38 total.

Media in category 'Marsupial'

The following 5 files are in this category, out of 5 total.